2021 TSF Award Recipients


Danielle I. Aronowitz, MD
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
“Cerebral Mitochondrial Function In The Acute Recovery Phase After Cardiopulmonary Bypass”
Nina Starr Braunwald Research Fellowship Award, $30,000

Nathan R. Brand, MD, MSc
University of California San Francisco
“The Effect Of PARP Inhibition On Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma: An Opportunity For A Novel Therapeutic”
TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award, $60,000

Emily J. Cerier, MD
Northwestern University
“Recipient Non-Classical Monocytes Drive Primary Graft Dysfunction In Cystic Fibrosis Recipients”
TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award, $60,000

Jonathan Cools-Lartigue, MD, PhD
McGill University
“Investigating The Role Of Tumor Derived Extracellular Vesicles In Polarizing Polymorphonuclear Granulocytes Towards A Pro-Metastatic Phenotype”
TSF Research Award, $80,000

Amit Iyengar, MD, MSE
University of Pennsylvania
“Understanding The Metabolic Changes Occurring Stress Cardiomyopathy”
TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award, $60,000

Kiran H. Lagisetty, MD
University of Michigan
“Determining The Role Of GRAIL (RNF128) Isoform Changes On Resistance To Chemotherapy In Neoadjuvant Therapy For Esophageal Adenocarcinoma”
STS Research Award, $80,000

Yihan Lin, MD, MPH
University of Colorado
“Global Cardiovascular E-Learning: Transcending Borders During COVID-19 and Beyond”
Nina Starr Braunwald Research Fellowship Award, $60,000

Betty S. Liu, MD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
“Accelerating Wound Healing Of Mesothelial Injuries Using A Bio-Derived Interface With The Heart And Lungs”
TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award, $60,000

Alejandro E. Murillo, MD
Duke University
“Identification of Protein Biomarkers to Predict Cardiac Allograft Dysfunction after Ex-Vivo Normothermic Perfusion Storage”
TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award, $60,000

Evan P. Rotar, MD, MS
The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
“Evaluation of the Rehabilitative Advantage of IVLP in ARDS Using a Porcine Gastric Aspiration-Induced Lung Injury Model”
Southern Thoracic Surgical Association (STSA) Resident Research Award, $30,000

Uma M. Sachdeva, MD, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital
“Esophageal Epithelial Stress Response Pathways And Metabolic Shifts Associated With Carcinogenesis In The Progression From Barrett’s Esophagus To Adenocarcinoma Using 3D Organoids”
TSF Research Award, $80,000

Aditya Sengupta, MD
Boston Children’s Hospital
“Assessment of Long-Term Neurodevelopmental Outcomes in Congenital Heart Disease after Cardiac Surgery in Infancy and Childhood”
TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award, $60,000


Qasim Al abri, MD
Houston Methodist Hospital
“Minimally Invasive and Structural Heart Fellowship”
Michael J. Davidson Fellowship, $50,000

William Y. Shi, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital
“Structural and Endovascular Cardiac Surgery Fellowship”
Michael J. Davidson Fellowship, $50,000

Maria Lucia L. Madariaga, MD
University of Chicago
“Building Skills To Establish A Translational Organ Perfusion Laboratory At The University Of Chicago”
Carolyn E. Reed Traveling Fellowship Award, $4,470

Samine Ravanbakhsh, MD
Mayo Clinic Arizona
“Bringing Robotic First Rib Resections To Arizona”
Carolyn E. Reed Traveling Fellowship Award, $3,000

Alison F. Ward, MD
Augusta University Health
“Surgical Management Of Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy”
Carolyn E. Reed Traveling Fellowship Award, $3,000

Andrew B. Goldstone, MD, PhD
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
“Advanced Training In The Ross Procedure And Aortic Valve Repair Techniques”
Robert L. Replogle Traveling Fellowship Award, $10,000

Gregory M. MacLean, BS, CCP
University of Michigan
“Multidisciplinary High-Fidelity Simulation Training to Improve Collaboration During Emergent Cardiac Procedures at The University of Michigan”
Sarns Terumo Perfusion Education Fellowship Award, $10,000

David J. Spurlock, MD
Spectrum Health
“Atrial Fibrillation Techniques”
The Levi Watkins Innovation and Leadership Development Scholarship, $3,200


Michael T. Cain, MD
University of Colorado Denver
“Underserved Region: Kenya/Tenwek Hospital”
International Medical Volunteer Scholarship Award, $2,500

Parth M. Patel, MD
Emory University
“Aortic Arch Management During Acute Type A Aortic Syndromes”
STS/EACTS Award, $2,500