2003 Research Award Recipients

Anthony Azakie, MD
University of California, San Francisco
“Developmental Regulation of Cardiac Gene Expression”

Anthony Caffarelli, MD
Stanford University
“Transplantation of Early Differentiated Cardiomyocytes into Postinfarcted Murine Hearts”
TSFRE Research Fellowship/FACT

Paul M. Kirshbom, MD
Emory University
“Induction of Hypoxia Inducible Factor as a Neurologic Protection Strategy”
Career Development Award

John Langenfeld, MD
Robert Wood Johnson
“The Role of Bone Morphogenetic Protein-2 in Differentiating Embryonic Stem Cells into Endothelial Cells”
TSFRE Research Grant

Mark D. Peterson, MD
Toronto General Hospital
“Monocyte and Endothelial Interactions in the Pathogenesis of Delayed Xenograft Rejection”
Laszlo N. Tauber Research Grant

DuyKhanh Pham, MD
Duke University Medical Center
“Functional Characterization of SCRO in Lung Cancer”
Braunwald Research Fellowship